Praying Through the Armor of God

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.  Eph. 6:10-12

This scripture makes it very clear that Satan is evil, scheming and incredibly powerful and we need spiritual armor to stand against him. So here is a way to use the armor of God as a guide for your prayer time. Use it once a day or once a month to examine your life before the Lord so you aren’t susceptible to the enemy’s attacks.Here are the pieces of the armor and some questions to prayerfully ask yourself for each one:

Belt of Truth

What lies from Satan about myself, others, the world around me, or circumstances am I believing? Am I not telling the truth in certain areas about certain things; where I am slanting the truth?

Breastplate of Righteousness

Do I realize how God sees Christ’s righteousness instead of my sin? How is my sense of self-worth right now? What sins do I need to confess? Is there unnecessary guilt on my heart right now?

Shoes Fitted with Readiness

Am I ready to share the gospel at any time with those who should ask? Of people I know whom should I pray for to know the Lord? Who should I go to with the gospel message?

Gospel of Peace

What am I stressed about? What do my thoughts reveal I am worried or fearful about? Am I regretful about things that have happened in the past? Am I anxious about the future to come?

Shield of Faith

What are the arrows of temptation ahead today? Knowing my weak points, where would Satan tend to strike? What natural desires would he start with?

Helmet of Salvation

What doubts about God and his Word attack my mind? What do I doubt God will do for me? What questions of the faith haunt me?

Sword of the Spirit

What promises of God do I need to hold onto for any of the above? What scripture should I be reading and/or studying?

***Remember to pray in His Name (He’s our power of attorney), in the power of His Blood (we can’t be touched because of it), and under the cross (he’s triumphant there for us).

Leave a Reply

